36th District incumbents draw no election challengers

Friday was the final day for candidates to file to run for federal, state, and local offices in Washington, setting the stage for numerous competitive races across the state this fall.

But in the 36th Legislative District, the incumbents won’t have to worry about a challenge in November.

Sen. Reuven Carlyle, and Reps. Gael Tarleton and Noel Frame were the only people to apply to run for their respective positions, making the entire delegation unopposed.

Of the state’s 49 legislative districts, only one other (the 20th, which encompasses parts of Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, and Thurston counties) had all three incumbents receive no challengers.

Two years ago, all three races in the 36th District were contested, but then-state Sen. Jeanne Kohl-Welles, then-Rep. Carlyle, and Tarleton all received more than 80 percent of the vote in the general election.

Meanwhile, two local residents are seeking statewide office.

Queen Anne resident Jeff Sprung was one of five to officially file to replace embattled State Auditor Troy Kelley, and will likely face state Sen. Mark Miloscia in the general election.

Another Queen Anne resident, former Seattle City Councilmember Tina Podlodowski, will challenge incumbent Secretary of State Kim Wyman. 

A total of nine candidates filed for the 7th Congressional District seat currently held by Jim McDermott, with state Sen. Pramila Jayapal, state Rep. Brady Walkinshaw, and Metropolitan King County Council Chair Joe McDermott (not related) the presumed frontrunners in that race.

The primary is set for Aug. 2, with the top-two candidates in each race — regardless of party affiliation — advancing to the November general election.