BAGLEYMOVING ON: Kindergarten and first-grade teacher Cashel Toner, of Bagley Elementary School, 7821 Stone Ave. N. is the new principal of Loyal Heights Elementary School. Head teacher for the last two years at Bryant, Toner also has taught Montessori and contemporary classes at Bagley.BLANCHETNEW PRINCIPAL: Maureen O'Shaughnessy is the new principal of Blanchet High School, 8200 Wallingford Ave. N. She replaces interim principal Pat Miranda, who has taught, counseled and coached at Blanchet for 37 years.O'Shaughnessy most recently served as overseas at Brent International School in the Philippines. She has also worked as a teacher and administrator in the Mead and Puyallup school districts and as principal of the American International School in Budapest, Hungary.BRYANTNEW PRINCIPAL: Kim Fox is the new principal of Bryant Elementary School, 3311 N.E. 60th St. She previously served as an advanced learning consultant for Seattle Public Schools. She continues to instruct staff on Teaching the Gifted Child in the Regular Classroom.B.F. DAYPARTNER SCHOOL: The Office Max on Leary Way chose B.F. Day as its partner school for its "A Day Made Better Day" on Oct. 1.On that day, a B.F. Day teacher will receive a package containing more than $1,000 worth of classroom supplies.CLASSROOM CONFIGURATIONS: Based on current enrollment for this coming school year, B.F. Day Elementary School, 3921 Linden Ave. N., will have two first-grade classes, one combined first- and second-grade class and a combined third- and fourth-grade class. The combined fourth- and fifth-grade class isn't needed at this point so it will revert to a full fifth-grade class.All other classroom configurations will remain the same.NEW PTSA BOARD: B.F. Day has elected its officers for its PTSA board: Barbara Dey, president; outgoing president Ingrid Emerick, treasurer; Anita Wooster, secretary; Niki and Eric Kirby, vice president-fund raising; outgoing secretary Lisa Dutton and Valerie Kinast, vice president-enrichment; Chris Steck, vice president-technology; and Margaret Steck, vice president-outreach.B.J. Cummings will take over membership, though she will not serve on the board.ECKSTEINEARTH HERO: Science teacher Jessica Levine, of Eckstein Middle School, 3003 N.E. 75th St., was named the 2008 Earth Hero at School for her work in incorporating environmental sustainability in the sixth-grade science curriculum at Eckstein.OLYMPIC VIEWNEW PRINCIPAL: Formerly the head teacher at John Hay Elementary School for the last two years, Justin Baeder is the new principal of Olympic View Elementary School, 504 N.E. 95th St. He replaces Tim Moynihan, who has relocated to Belgrade, Serbia, to become the principal of the International School. Moynihan was principal at Olympic View for seven years.WEDGWOODNEW PRINCIPAL: Denise Espania - who has been a principal intern at Wedgwood Elementary School, 2720 N.E. 85th St., since January - is the school's new principal. She replaces Veronica Gallardo, who was named interim program manager of Seattle Public Schools' bilingual department.Espania served two years as an instructor and mentor for graduate-level students at the University of Washington. She also taught special education at the high-school level in Hawaii for six years, and she has taught elementary reading and fifth grade.NORTH ENDAWARDS: Ingraham's Lan Ly (Family and Consumer Sciences) and Wilson Lu (Information Technology) and Nathan Hale High School's Kevin Prather (Radio Broadcasting) received Washington Award for Vocational Excellence awards, which will pay for two years of college tuition.GRANTS: Ronald McFarland, of Broadview-Thomson Elementary School, 13052 Greenwood Ave. N., and Gregory Pittman, of Laurelhurst Elementary School, 4530 46th Ave. N.E., received $9,000 grants from the 2008-09 Enhanced Peer Coaching Program.The two teachers will use their grants to attend a 10-session training program, where they will learn how to incorporate digital technologies - such as software graphing calculators, interactive whiteboards and digital cameras - into their curriculum.SCHOLARSHIPS: Nine students received National Merit Scholarships for $2,500 each, and all of them are from North Seattle: Garfield's Megan M. Forry (education), Colleen E. McGaughey (marine biology), Nicholas J. Pleasants (law), Peter K. Reinhardt (aerospace engineering), Justine D. Yan (mathematics) and Alexander P. Yuly (architecture); Ingraham's Natalie Butterfield (international relations); and Roosevelt's David A. Cutler (journalism) and Marisa R. Landicho (chemical engineering).COLLEGESSCHOLARSHIP: North Seattle resident Aric Skurdal is a recipient of the first Western National Insurance Scholarship, a merit-based award.Skurdal, who graduated from Garfield High School, is in his sophomore year at Washington University in St. Louis, Mo., where he is studying architecture. He recently finished a summer internship with Mahlum Architects in Seattle. He also is a technician in his college's performing-arts department and is on the dean's list.[[In-content Ad]]