Addy Telzrow, a fifth-grader at Coe Elementary School (2424 Seventh Ave. W.), was selected among the top 10 outstanding patrollers in Washington state to be inducted in the 2015 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame. Telzrow and others will be recognized at an evening awards ceremony before the Seattle Mariners game at Safeco Field on Friday, April 24.

As a long-standing tradition, AAA Washington and a panel of judges from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Washington Traffic Safety Commission select top patrollers from schools across Washington each year and honor their accomplishments through induction in the AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame.

Patrollers are judged on their commitment to traffic safety, citizenship, leadership skills and contributions to school safety patrol programs. Nominations require input from both the patroller and their advisor, including responses to a series of essay questions. This year, the panel reviewed and evaluated nearly 50 nominations to determine the top 10 inductees.

AAA created the School Safety Patrol more than 90 years ago and partners with local agencies to bring the program to elementary schools across Washington. The safety patrol has been credited with being a major contributor to the substantial reduction in traffic-related fatalities of school-age children ages 5 to 14.